The OpenSPL Consortium was formed to promote the use of spatial computing and to standardize the OpenSPL language for creating spatial programs.

The consortium is managed by a steering committee. The steering committee is chaired by Tamas Nemeth (Chevron), and the committee secretary is Oliver Pell (Maxeler).

Types of OpenSPL memberships

Organisations can be either full member or observer members of the consortium.

Full members are entitled to fully participate in all consortium activities, including voting on the composition of the steering board. The current full members are:

  • Chevron
  • CME Group
  • Juniper Networks
  • Maxeler Technologies

Observer members may observe consortium activities and participate in the OpenSPL standard specification process, but may not vote. Current observer members are:

  • Imperial College London
  • Stanford University
  • University of Tokyo
  • Tsinghua University

How do I become a member

If your organisation would like to join OpenSPL, please contact